64 South Street
Norwell, MA 02061
P: 781-659-2015
F: 781-659-6755
Hours Directions

64 South Street, Norwell, MA 02061
P: 781-659-2015 | F: 781-659-6755
Hours Directions

Font Size:

Online Research Tools: General / Academic / Business / Genealogy / Health & Science / History, Social Studies & Biography / Literature / Newspapers & Magazines / Students K-12

Funding is provided by Norwell Public Library & the Massachusetts Board of Library Commissioners (MBLC).

 

 General

Consumer Checkbook Boston Consumer's Checkbook: A nonprofit website dedicated to helping Boston area consumers find high-quality, reasonably priced services.

Consumer Reports Consumer Reports: Expert reviews and ratings of consumer products, plus buying advice and comparisons. 

 

General OneFile database General OneFile: Millions of full-text news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics such as business, computers, current events, education, environment, health, law, literature, politics, science, sports, technology, etc.


General Reference Center Gold database
General Reference Center
Gold
 : A general interest database of articles on current events, popular culture, business & industry trends, arts & sciences, sports, hobbies, & more.


Power Search link
 PowerSearch
: Ability to search one or several of the Gale's periodical databases in a single search.  This is especially good for subjects that may be covered in more than one database, like diets, careers, etc.


Reference USA database
ReferenceUSA:
The #1 source of information on businesses & people for researchers, students, job seekers & government agencies. Includes the U.S. Business Database with over 24 million businesses,  the U.S. Standard White Pages with or over 89 million residents, and the U.S. Jobs and Internships Database with over 2.5 million job listings



Gale Virtual Reference Library database
 Virtual Reference Library:
A database of encyclopedias & specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research including over 20 full-text reference books.

 

Encyclopaedia Britannica Public Library EditionEncyclopaedia Britannica Public Library Edition

 

Back to top

 

  Academic

Academic OneFile databaseAcademic OneFile: Premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals & reference sources with extensive coverage of technology, medicine, social sciences, arts, theology, literature & other subjects.


Expanded Academic OneFile database
Expanded Academic ASAP:
Scholarly journals, magazines, & newspapers, many with full-text & images across all academic disciplines.


Educator's Reference Complete database
Educator's Reference Complete: A selection of more than 450 full-text academic journals, hundreds of full-text reports, & many premier reference sources on topics such as educational principles, child development, psychology, & best practices.

Back to top

 

 Business

General Business File ASAP database linkGeneral Business File ASAP: Analyze company performance & activity, industry events & trends as well as the latest in management, economics & politics.



business insights essentials
Business Insights: Essentials: An integrated resource bringing together company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories, chronologies & periodicals. Search to find detailed company news & info.

 

Small Business eBooks linkSmall Business eBooks: Perfect for business students & entrepreneurs, this compilation provides insights, tips, strategies & success stories. Users will find hundreds of full text subject-appropriate periodicals.

 

Morningstar Mutual Funds logo Morningstar Library Edition: Provides investment research, including stock & fund analysis, reports & tools, as well as company, investing & financial news.                                                   In-Library Access     Remote Access

Back to top

 

 Genealogy

Ancestry.com logo Ancestry Library: One of the most important genealogical collections available today. It has unparalleled coverage of the US & the UK, including census, vital, church, court & immigration records, as well as record collections from other areas.  This database is only accessible on the library computers via desktop icon.

Back to top

 

 Health & Science

Salem Press Health database link General Health: Magill's Medical Guide as well as information about cancer.

Salem Science database linkGeneral Science: Forensic science, the solar system, & global warming.

Health Reference Center Academic database linkHealth Reference Center Academic: Multi-source database provides access to full-text nursing & allied health journals, plus a wide variety of personal health information sources.


Health & Wellness Resource Center
Health & Wellness Resource Center: Find magazines, journals, newspapers, definitions, directories, videos, & reference information on: Medicine, Nutrition, Diseases, Public Health, Pregnancy, Prescription Drugs, etc. Included are links to diet, cancer, health assessment sites & government databases. Easily access 700+ videos from Healthology, Inc.'s consumer health video library. Spanish-language videos are available. The material contained in this Resource Center is intended for informational purposes only.

Nursing & Allied Health CollectionNursing & Allied Health Collection: All aspects of the Nursing profession - from direct patient care to health care administration - are covered in this collection. Including nearly 400 titles, this collection will be of use to both professionals already working in the field as well as students pursuing a nursing curriculum.

Psychology collection linkPsychology Collection: This collection covers a basic understanding of the study of the mind, emotions & the development of the human mind. This resource allows access to hundreds of subject-appropriate full-text periodicals.

Science in Context linkScience In Context: Science in Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics. The new solution merges Gale's authoritative reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, experiments, images, videos, audio files & links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.

 Back to top

 

 History, Social Studies & Biography

Biography in Context linkBiography in Context: Biographies covering literary figures, science, multicultural studies, business, entertainment, politics, sports, govenment, history, current events & the arts.

Salem Press History database linkThe Decades in America: Important events, movements, people, & trends in popular culture, literature, art, sports, science, technology, economics & politics in both the US & Canada throughout the 50s - 90s.

Salem Press History database linkGreat Events & Lives from History: Info. about the Renaissance, 17th - 20th century, modern scandals, GLBT Events, notorious lives & inventors.

Massachusetts History Online link

Mass History Online: Full-text articles gathered from almost 50 sources that directly relate to Massachusetts history.

 

Salem Press History database linkMilestone Documents in American History(Remote Access): Primary source documents with expert analysis & commentary on American history, key American leaders & African American History.

EBSCO eBooks 2EBSCO eBooks: Online reference source for the Enclopedia of the Gilded Age and Progressive Era

U.S. History Collection link
U.S. History Collection: This collection provides well-rounded coverage of both current events in U.S. History as well as scholarly work. It provides robust & balanced coverage, useful both to novice historians & advanced researchers alike.

Encyclopaedia Britannica Annals of American HistoryEncyclopaedia Britannica Annals of American History

 

Back to top

 

 Literature

Books & Authors database link Books & Authors: This database contains the entire What Do I Read Next? collection, so you can be sure that "your next big read comes with a BIG recommendation."


Contemporary Literary Criticism database link
Contemporary Literary Criticism:
An extensive collection of critical essays on contemporary authors containing biographical/critical introductions, listings of principle works & sources for further study.

Literary Resource Center link Literature Resource Center: Up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism & reviews on nearly 130,000 writers in all disciplines, time periods, & from around the world.

Literary Resources from Gale link Literary Resources from Gale: Research authors & their works, literary movements and genres. Search across several major Literature databases to find full text of literary works, journal articles, criticism, reviews, bio. information & overviews.

Novelist Plus database link NoveList Plus: Allows readers to use a favorite author or title as a template to locate other authors & titles of interest.  Includes fiction & non-fiction titles.



Salem Press Literature database link
 Special Titles of Criticism
: Critical insights on Jane Austen, To Kill a Mockingbird & I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings &
Magill's Literary Annuals.

Back to top

 

 Newspapers & Magazines

Boston Globe logo Boston Globe (1997 - current)


Boston Herald logo                 Boston Herald (From Home)



Cape Cod Times logo Cape Cod Times
  (From Home)

 
Norwell Mariner logo Norwell Mariner
  (From Home)


Patriot Ledger logo
Patriot Ledger

Newsbank US newspapers linkLocal area papers & news magazines, plus current events and research topics (From Home)


Popular Magazines database link Popular Magazines: Includes more than 1,000 of the most searched magazines & is 100% full text. All titles were selected based on actual publication searches performed by library patrons.

Back to top

 

 Students K-12

Kids Infobits database linkKid's Edition - Elementary School: A periodical database designed for elementary school students, with easy access to full-text magazines, newspapers & reference books for information on current events, the arts, science, popular culture, health, people, government, history, sports & more.

InfoTrac Student Edition database linkStudent Edition - High School: Designed for high school students, with access to a variety of indexed & full-text magazines, newspapers & reference books for information on current events, the arts, science, popular culture, health, people, government, history, sports & more.

NoveList K-8 database linkNoveList K-8 Plus: Allows readers to use a favorite author or title as a template to locate other authors & titles of interest.  Includes fiction & non-fiction titles.



American History 1550-1877 database linkAmerican History (1550 - 1877): An essential social studies resource that details the emergence & growth of the young American nation.

Salem Press History database linkGreat Athletes: Information & pictures about great athletes.

Salem Press History database linkMusicians & Composers: Information about the lives of great musicians & composers.

Technology & Applied Sciences database linkTechnology & Applied Sciences: This comprehensive yet concise reference resource focuses on technology & applied sciences in support of the science classroom curriculum.

Encyclopaedia Britannica School EditionEncyclopaedia Britannica School Edition