Temporary Location:
1207 Washington Street
Hanover, MA 02339
Phone: 781-659-2015
Hours Directions

Temporary Location:
1207 Washington Street, Hanover, MA 02339
Phone: 781-659-2015
Hours Directions

What's New!

Online Resources to Keep Kids Engaged, Learning, and Having Fun at Home  Keep checking back, as we're adding new resources all the time!

 

Library

Download ebooks and audiobooks with your library card:  https://ocln.overdrive.com/ocln-norwell/youth

TumbleBook Library (no library account required, through August 2020):   https://www.tumblebooklibrary.com

TumbleMath (no library account required, through August 2020):   https://www.tumblemath.com/home.aspx

Audio Book Cloud (no library account required, through August 2020):   https://www.audiobookcloud.com

Hoopla:   https://www.hoopladigital.com/

Kanopy for Kids:  www.norwellpubliclibrary.kanopy.com

Kids InfoBits https://go.gale.com/ps/start.do?p=ITKE&u=mlin_s_norwell&sid=geolinks

Novelist K-8 Plus:  https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx

 

 Online Reading Resources / Read Alouds / Virtual Story Times

"Imagine Your Story" - Summer Reading Champion Carmen Agra Deedy 2020   https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f2vSVoIk92Y

School Library Journal's Virtual Events Calendar:  https://www.slj.com/?detailStory=virtual-events-calendar-upcoming-kids-parents&utm_source=Marketing&utm_medium=email&utm_campaign=june11ExtraHelping

Book Connections (no account required, through September 15, 2020):   https://www.bookconnections.org/tb.cgi?go=1&adv=title&gradeLevel=1&gradeLevel=5&gradeLevel=8

Storyline Online:   https://www.storylineonline.net

#StoryMarch:   https://www.sarahbrannen.com/storymarch

Story Time from Space:   https://storytimefromspace.com 

Authors Everywhere!:    https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCowhHSUaWp3KJDcuI0nR0vw

KidLit Online Schedule (art lessons and readings by children's authors/illustrators):   https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1sxU02heqtCoZgi4HZ_f5f0rtN8S2ZuFFaLKT6S0U19A/edit?fbclid=IwAR1E3dViLrb67GdPdaDEhM4q7woP6MqYO2TiSL9_n_Z4HofMDt1D4Ufb3Oc#gid=0

Scholastic Learn at Home:    https://classroommagazines.scholastic.com/support/learnathome.html

Reading Rockets:    https://www.readingrockets.org/article/when-school-closed-resources-keep-kids-learning-home

Spanish Children's Stories (The Spanish Experiment):    https://www.thespanishexperiment.com/stories 

Internet Archive's General Kid-Friendly Resources:   https://help.archive.org/hc/en-us/articles/360040327592-General-kid-friendly-resources 

Poetry Archive:   https://childrens.poetryarchive.org 

Poems for Kids:   https://poets.org/poems-kids

Poetry Foundation/Children:   https://www.poetryfoundation.org/learn/children

 

Learning at Home

Science Resources for Home and School:  https://www.sciencebuddies.org

Skype a Scientist:   https://www.skypeascientist.com/

50+ Science Activities Using Household Items:  https://mommypoppins.com/kids/50-easy-science-experiments-for-kids-fun-educational-activities-using-household-stuff?fbclid=IwAR3qmyS0ZLnfLCC-1363i3mkeeQtRoBdaFeFMl9uSmUI33dt09O-4TZpsc4

LUNCH DOODLES with Mo Willems:   https://www.kennedy-center.org/mowillems

Draw Every Day with JJK:   https://www.youtube.com/studiojjk

Dav Pilkey at Home:   https://kids.scholastic.com/kids/books/dav-pilkey-at-home/

Palmer Public Library's Paper Puppets with David Hyde Costello:  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dwGwHl8c58w&feature=youtu.be

Palmer Public Library's Paper Puppets with David Hyde Costello, Part Two:  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5cXGwqySc1w&t=1s

Preservation for Kids:  http://www.ala.org/alcts/preservationweek/ch/kids

Smithsonian Digital Education Resources:   https://www.smithsonianmag.com/smithsonian-institution/eight-digital-education-resources-around-smithsonian-180974430/

Soap Dough Recipe for Happy Hands:   https://tinkercast.com/resource/craft-squishy-soap-dough-for-happy-clean-hands/?fbclid=IwAR1PhoaH8Zhgs6EWekNyXVKAzskzjSO3LV-nFSmhUFeLEGyiHfWerrgFPwo

Sensory Activities for Babies & Toddlers:   https://mericherry.com/category/baby-accessories/ 

50 Process Art Activities for Kids from Meri Cherry:   https://mericherry.com/2015/09/28/50-process-art-activities-for-kids/

 

Videos

Kanopy for Kids:  www.norwellpubliclibrary.kanopy.com

"Best Of" Lists from Common Sense Media:   https://www.commonsensemedia.org/movie-lists

Brooklyn Public Library's "Ready, Set, Kindergarten":  https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL9FC88003A1415C27

  

Virtual Visits 

ART in PLACE at the Eric Carle Museum of Picture Book Art:   https://sway.office.com/4gm5EH94jhEswJ7z

USS Contitution Museum:   https://ussconstitutionmuseum.org/

New England Aquarium At-Home Events and Activities  https://www.neaq.org/visit/at-home-events-and-activities

Plimoth Plantation Virtual Field Trip:   https://www.plimoth.org/learn/just-kids/virtual-field-trip

Museum of Science Museum Online:   https://www.mos.org/museum-online

Zoo New England's Kids' Corner:   https://www.zoonewengland.org/kids-corner 

Buttonwood Park Zoo:   https://www.bpzoo.org/virtual-visits 

Houston Zoo's Live Webcams:   https://www.houstonzoo.org/explore/webcams 

Mars 360-degree planetary view:  https://accessmars.withgoogle.com/ 

Stunning Libraries Around the World:   http://ilovelibraries.org/article/take-virtual-tours-these-stunning-libraries

Around the World Flight Adventure:  https://www.aviationmuseumofnh.org/worldflight/current/

 

Podcasts for Kids

Kids Ask Authors, hosted by Grace Lin:  https://www.kidsaskauthors.com/ 

So Get Me, hosted by The Alphabet Rockers:  https://app.kidslisten.org/pod/So-Get-Me-the-Alphabet-Rockers-podcast-for-families-making-change

Girl Tales:  https://app.kidslisten.org/pod/Girl-Tales

Activist, You!   https://app.kidslisten.org/pod/Activist-You

 

Coronavirus Resources for Kids

NYC School Library System List of Free eBooks about COVID-19:   https://nycdoe.libguides.com/COVID-19ebooks/free

Candlewick Press' Coronavirus Book for Kids and other activities:   https://stayhome.candlewick.com/

Be a Coronavirus Fighter! eBook in several languages:   https://yeehoopress.com/

Coronavirus Foldable Comic (zine version):  https://drive.google.com/file/d/1PYrKYfOBa4p-azI5z_46KJMbi1FSmL_Y/view

BrainPop:   https://www.brainpop.com/health/diseasesinjuriesandconditions/coronavirus

Kids Health from Nemours:   https://kidshealth.org/en/kids/coronavirus-kids

Little Puddins Coronavirus Social Story:   https://littlepuddins.ie/coronavirus-social-story/

The Princess in Black and the Case of the Coronavirus:   https://www.princessinblack.com/download/pib-coronavirus.pdf  

Sesame Street: Caring For Each Other:   https://www.sesamestreet.org/caring
 

 

Want to browse new titles in the children’s collection?  Click here to go to the catalog and select "New for children - Norwell" in the
drop-down menu.

Children's Picture Books - A monthly preview of the best new books for budding readers.  You will learn about sure-to-please choices for storytime:

Children's Chapter Books - Independent readers will appreciate these monthly recommendations on exciting new chapter books in fiction and nonfiction:

 

Booklists:

 

Notable Books & Award Winners:

 

Children's Classics:  Children's Classics: A Booklist for Parents from The Horn Book

Find the Next Book in a Series:  Kids Book Series

 

Links

ala gwslogoHundreds of web sites for kids and adults arranged by subject by the American Library Association. To access site, click on logo.


   MORE Great Websites for Kids from ALA:  More Great Websites for Kids Selected by ALSC

   Children's Books in Many Languages:  International Children's Digital Library

 

APPS

Find apps for kids:

https://knowwhatsinside.com/discover

American Association of School Librarians (AASL) Best Apps for Teaching and Learning 2019

 

Free apps for Kids:

PBS Kids:   https://pbskids.org/apps/

Khan Academy Kids:   https://apps.apple.com/us/app/khan-academy-kids/id1378467217

Sesame Street:   https://apps.apple.com/us/app/sesame-street/id912435108

 

 

 

bird